Pachinko

It is a game originating from Japan, as an arcade game and a low-key way around gambling as it is illegal in Japan. To basically explain it, it is like  Japanese version of a slot machine.

A pachinko machine uses small (11 mm diameter) steel balls, which are rented to the player by the owner (usually a “pachinko parlor,” a place featuring many individual games in rows), while pinball games use a larger, captive ball.

Pachinko machines were first built during the 1920s as a children’s toy called the “Corinth game”, based on and named after the American “Corinthian bagatelle”.Another likely inspiration was the Billard japonais, ‘Japanese billiards’, invented in Western Europe during the 18th century. It emerged as an adult pastime in Nagoya around 1930 and spread from there. All of Japan’s pachinko parlors were closed down during World War II but re-emerged in the late 1940s.

Image result for pachinko game

Above: An example of a pachinko machine.

Related image

As being a big fan of Sonic the Hedgehog, I’ve had to include this. The Sonic one looks interesting to me as there is a 3D Sonic on this machine, if this was mine I would probably put some of the pegs around Sonic, so it makes it a bit more interesting.

Related imageRelated image

These are just a few of the pachinko games that will inspire me a bit. I like them all as they all fit what their theme is, another thing to note is the colour, colours that are bright are more likely to get the attention of others. This can maybe help

 

oi oi p1

I’ve made a basic level for my Pachinko game, the design was a mixture of both simplicity and making shapes, an original shape (to not seem like copying the other ones too much but making inspiration)

 

First of which, I added the circles and squares to make my stage,

oi oi p2

I’ve

Leave a comment